Flash Forward 2013

You are not logged in | Log in?

The Magenta Foundation is pleased to announce Year Nine of Flash Forward, its Emerging Photographers Competition.

2013 will see the return of Flash Forward Festival at its home base, Boston’s Fairmont Battery Wharf, where we bring together emerging professional photographers from around the world. Concurrently in Toronto, Flash Forward programming will focus on educational experiences targeting local high school students.

TD Bank Group, our long-standing Flash Forward Presenting Sponsor, along with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts/Fairmont Battery Wharf Boston, and enRoute Magazine make it possible for The Magenta Foundation to continue to develop additional programming components that promote and foster emerging artists. These enabling organizations help to make Flash Forward the most prestigious juried international emerging photography competition in the world.

Submission Deadline:

Submissions for Flash Forward 2013 are now closed. However, if you were attempting to submit prior to the deadline but encountered technical difficulties, please contact support@ magentafoundation.org as soon as possible — we may still be able to help you, provided that you contact us before screening of submissions begins..)

Magenta would like to thank everyone who submitted their work. The winners will be announced in May.

Flash Forward 2013 Jurors:

  • Canada:
    • Julien BeauprĂ© Ste-Marie — Photo Editor, enRoute Magazine
    • Erin Elder, Manager — Business Development & Partnerships, Digital Media, The Globe & Mail
    • Wil Kucey — Director, LE Gallery
  • UK:
    • Sara Knelman — Talks Programmer / Photographers Gallery
    • Rebecca McClelland — Group Photography Editor & Creative Director, Ian Parry Scholarship
  • US:
    • Natalie Matutschovsky — Senior Photo Editor, TIME Magazine
    • Susan White — Photography Director, Vanity Fair
    • Jasmine DeFoore — Freelance Photo Editor & Consultant
    • Jon Feinstein — Humble Arts Foundation
    • Aline Smithson — Photographer, Founder and Editor, Lenscratch
    • Adriana Theresa — Visura Magazine
    • Jason Houston — Co-Founder, Take One Creative
    • Laura Brunow-Miner — Pictory
  • Invited International Jurors:
    • Jim Casper — Lens Culture (France)
    • Tina Ahrens — emphas.IS

Bright Spark

One cash prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the 2013 Bright Spark, an emerging photographer whose submitted body of work is identified by the jury as being extraordinarily accomplished.

As in the past, all 2013 Flash Forward Winners and Honourable Mentions will have their work published in the catalogue that chronicles the annual juried competition.

The Flash Forward group show, made up of a selection of photographs from the accompanying annual catalogue, will travel from Toronto to Boston and other places to be announced.

Stay Informed

If you would like to be kept up to date on Magenta news, including changes to this site, calls for submissions, exhibition and publication announcements, etc., please join our announcement list:

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our E-mail Newsletter

Or follow us on Twitter or Facebook:

Follow MagentaFDN on Twitter Join our Facebook group

Questions or Problems?

For policy or informational questions — what to submit, eligibility, information about Magenta, etc. — please write to info@magentafoundation.org.

For technical support questions — web site issues, trouble uploading, etc. — please write to support@magentafoundation.org. Be sure to let us know exactly what problem you are experiencing, including the text of any error messages you may have received.